February 22, 2023

2022 Jamie Smith Superintendent of the Year Award Winners Announced

The Superintendent of the Year Awards program started in 2020 in honor of Jamie Smith, an outstanding Griffco Superintendent who passed away from Pancreatic Cancer in 2019. Since then, we have been committed to celebrating our hard working Superintendents who embody all of the qualities that Jamie did – commitment to safety, quality assurance and customer service.

We are proud to announce the winner of the 2022 Jamie Smith Superintendent of the Year Award: Dewayne Whitaker

Project: Ken’s Foods – McDonough, GA

Dewayne has been a part of the Griffco team for 7 years and has been vital to Griffco’s success. He embodies our core values as a company and the values that Jamie held close as a Superintendent: customer satisfaction, commitment to safety, high quality construction, staying on/ahead of schedule and budget management. Dewayne and Jamie were close friends, making this award extra special. Congratulations, Dewayne!

Commitment to Safety Award Winners:

Food/Entertainment: Ryan Jenkins

Self Storage: Mike Mertz

Quality Assurance Award Winners:

Food/Entertainment: Mike Leopold (Project Manager) and Phillip Dinsmore (Superintendent) for Americold Gateway Phase II – Atlanta, GA

Self Storage: Robert Roe (Project Manager) and Dan Tinnin (Superintendent) for Extra Space Storage – Douglasville, GA

Outstanding Customer Service Award Winners:

Food/Entertainment: Matt Albright (Project Manager) and William Baker (Superintendent) for Screen Gems Studios – Atlanta, GA

Self Storage: Brandon Arnold (Project Manager) and Corey Gibson (Superintendent) for GASSA Facility of the Year Award-winning CubeSmart Self Storage – Newnan, GA